top of page

Different week

First quest speaker on Monday was Sofia Auranen who works at Parker Hannifin. She graduaded from Laurea in 2013. Ms Auranen told us about her life and what she has done. She has been abroad quite a lot. She had worked in Australia, Brasil and Uruguay. I think that's wonderful! I love to travel so I wish one day I could maybe work abroad too.

She had some great tips for us:

- do your best

- treat people with gratitude

- never burn bridges

- aim to great

Photo by Faysal Hasan

On the same day we also had another quest speaker, Hanna Sirama. We are not allowed to write about her business idea that no one will copy it. I wish that I could write more about that but maybe I'll just write that I really love the idea. The subject is close my heart.

On Wednesday we visited Digipeople Studio in Lauttasaari, Helsinki. Pekka Tuominen showed us company's office and studio. It was really cool to see it! Too bad we are not going to "do business" with Digipeople Studio any more. They don't have time or tasks for us anymore so we are going to change to Mrs Tuominen's wife's company, Emotion Tracker. Luckily Camilla Tuominen, his wife, seems to be really nice. She had really many ideas that what we could do for Emotion Tracker. It is good that now we will have a lot of tasks to choose from but we wish that we could be more visual. Well our course is about digital business and our tasks will be exactly that so it is good I guess. Tasks main subject is social media and social media marketing. I will talk more about our tasks when we choose what we would like to do.

On Thursday we only had one quest lecturer, Arto Kuuluvainen from M3Research Ltd. Topic of the lecture was sport branding.

Arto Kuuluvainen (picture is from his Twitter page)

Important thing what he told was that there are a lot of ways you can make money with sports:

- media deals

- sponsorship

- merchandise

- ticket sales

- new sources (for example streaming services and fantasy games)

Other important thing to know about sport branding is that athlete brands are relatively short-living because of course athletes age. I am not that much into sports but it was refreshing to hear about completely different subject!

Here is a video we did this week. We really had fun! You won't see me in this video because I 98% filmed it this time when Mira (our usual person behind the camera) was abroad.

Remember to enjoy nature in this digital word

- Tanja

bottom of page